Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf


[PDF]Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf...

1 downloads 110 Views 228KB Size

Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness With great thoughtfulness, the National Center on Deaf-Blindness (NCDB), the National Family Association for Deaf-Blind (NFADB), and state deaf-blind project personnel have been collecting grief resources for families related to child loss. As you can imagine, death is a very traumatic experience for families. When coupled with a secondary loss of connection to the deaf-blind community, healing can be even more challenging. To help, we’ve created a list of resources where family members can obtain information and support.

Resources for Grieving Families: https://nationaldb.org/wiki/page/10/753 Next, we are excited to announce the launch of a Parent and Guardian Grief Support Group. Beginning May 3, 2017 and continuing for 5 consecutive months, we will be offering a series of web-based, peerto-peer meetings where parents who have lost a child will have an opportunity to process their grief and learn about coping strategies that have helped others. The meetings will be held on Wednesday evenings, twice per month (a second session may be offered on Thursday evenings, if needed). We are asking interested parents and guardians to commit to the entire 5-month series. Enrollment is free.

Parent and Guardian Grief Support Group Meeting Dates and Times Meetings will be on the dates listed below at 5:30 PT/6:30 MT/7:30 CT/8:30 ET for 90 minutes. Group Meeting Dates May 3, 2017 May 17, 2017 June 7, 2017 June 21, 2017 July 12, 2017 July 26, 2017 August 9, 2017 August 23, 2017 September 13, 2017 September 27, 2017

Topic Welcome Weaving Through Grief Grieving as a Juggling Act “I Wish I Would Have…” Safety and Grief Internal and External Pressures Food, Fellowship, and Sharing Impact of Loss on Your Health and Well-Being Tribute Night Pearls of Wisdom

How to Join If you are interested in joining the Parent and Guardian Grief Support group, please contact:

 

Megan Cote, Family Engagement Initiative Lead at NCDB – [email protected] Molly Black, Family Consultant for the Pennsylvania Deaf-Blind project – [email protected]

Or Register on-line: π  http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/3370521/Peer-Grief-Support-Program-Registration-Form